Yeah, like that went well…

My last post here ended with a note about me doing better at keeping in touch.   As that was posted almost a year ago, you can see how well I did with it.

Just answered the door to a couple of Mormon Missionaries.  They asked me if I was religious, and had trouble processing the negative response.  Asked (quite politely) if I wanted to talk, and had no trouble processing the negative response.  Asked if I wanted a card for their website (which I took), and explained that we all have questions, and the website has answers.

The questions are:

  • What is the true nature of God?
  • Can families be forever together?
  • Where do we go after this life?

Dude, these questions are so far from being universal, they don’t even make sense unless you’re religious in the first place.  Honestly, if you’re going to try to convince me you have the answers, at least do me the courtesy of answering the questions I actually ask.  Make it a discussion, not a sales job.

It’s frustrating, because there are plenty of spiritual questions which are relevant to me.

  • Is there a purpose to life?
  • Is there a purpose to my life, beyond that which I assign to it?
  • Is it even possible to experience ‘objective’ events, or is constant confabulation an inherent part of human consciousness?
  • Is purpose itself a result of that confabulation?

and so on.  You get the picture.

Speaking of pictures, thinking of starting a photography project, just taking pictures (or movies) of police officers, in public places, doing their jobs.  After all, when I personally observe them they generally are doing their jobs, and they do deserve recognition for that.  Of course, if I were to observe a police officer NOT doing his/her job I’d want to give him/her recognition for that as well.

It’s more relevant than you might think, according to this recent story from WJZ news, which was also discusssed in Gizmodo.  Theoretically, if I do this I’m risking (false) arrest and imprisonment, but I’m doubtful that’s how it would play out.

Leave a Reply

